whatwaswritten

Stealing news from Azerbaijan.

Student attacked for reading “Yeni Musavat” newspaper

An incident has occured at the the 2nd campus of Baku State University (BSU). According to azxeber.com, a student who was standing outside the 2nd campus building was viciously attacked by guards for reading “Yeni Musavat” newspaper.

The news portal’s workers have met with the student in relation to this incident. Rufat Aliyev, a student at Western University, has spoken about what happened in detail: “I was supposed to give my teacher papers at the university entrance. As I am not a BSU student, they only allowed me to wait at the door. So I was quietly waiting for the teacher. Suddenly someone who presented himself as the chief guard approached me and saw the “Yeni Musavat” paper I was holding. This person grabbed my arm and pushed me, saying, “What’s this newspaper you’re reading? You couldn’t find another one to read?” I said that I didn’t see a reason for this, and that everyone has a right to read newspapers. They ignored this and tried to take me outside, acting rough towards me.”

The student says that they even wanted to take him to the police station. R. Aliyev, who is not a member of any party, says that they checked his ID, too: “Yes, I told them that I was only there to give the teacher resources for a class. And they rightly asked me to wait at the door as I didn’t have a student card. I agreed. But, having seen the “Yeni Musavat” newspaper in my hand, they became aggressive towards me.”

Original in Azeri [Elmin Badalov, Yeni Musavat]

Leave a Reply

